Life In a Podcast

James 4:14 You don’t know the first thing about tomorrow. You’re nothing but a wisp of fog, catching a brief bit of sun before disappearing.

I have a dear friend who God has allowed to be quite successful in his calling in Charlotte.  I have been fortunate enough to partner side-by-side with this man.  He has influence and sway, and he holds those things delicately.  He realizes that it is God who has allowed him to be in the position he is in.  His success is due mainly to his allowing the Spirit to move in his life.  This guy always has my attention when he speaks.

Driving to a coffee meeting with this friend, I listened to one of my favorite podcasts from Stuff You Should Know.  I know, I’m a nerd – you have your little secrets, too.  I don’t remember which specific topic they were insisting I glean a better working knowledge of, but I do remember the part where they discussed the increase of mortality rates in the United States for the last 100 years.  To date there is a life expectancy of 77.7 years.  I am 33 years old.  Doing fast math, I find that I’m left with about 44 years.  Let’s factor in the poor lifestyle choices I’ve made.  I don’t always eat the best foods nor do I exercise like I need to.  I stress out way too much about way too little.  You see where this is going.  If I have 40 years left I’ll be doing good.  This is a morbid thought.  It also scared me. More worry.  You can see this ending poorly for me.

I sat down to coffee with my friend and tried to ignore the ticking clock in my head.  We got through the initial pleasantries and began discussing life stuff – real stuff.  It turns out that he’s been wrestling with his mortality as well. His words to me were “You break your back in your twenties so you can leave your mark in your thirties.”  He had the same realization/freak-out that I did.  This seemed daunting to me considering all that I have seen him accomplish.  If he’s worried about his legacy, then I’m in BIG trouble.  As much as it was discussed, there was no definitive answer to be reached.  We parted ways, both scratching our heads as to what our respective next steps were.  We both knew we had serious work to do if we were going to work this out and leave ourselves any time to do anything about it.

I have pondered all of this since then. I’ve only just started to realize how fast my last 33 years have gone. I’m sure the next 40 will fall like sand through my hands. What is my legacy thus far? What do I want it to be?  What on earth am I going to do about it?

And you? Not to be a bother, but where do you fall in this great escaping expanse of time? What are you working for? What are your goals? How do those match up with the burning passion in your belly that you have stifled for far too long? Why aren’t you out there doing what you are called to do?

My challenge to all of us is this: do whatever it takes to find out what you’re called to do and leave your mark doing it. It’s easy for me to type. It will be tough to achieve.

~ by spruills on June 4, 2010.

One Response to “Life In a Podcast”

  1. Hey buddy. Great, great, great reminder! Life is such a vapor. We’ve gotta make every day count man. Pumped to lead worship with you this weekend. Let’s lift up Jesus and pour into these student’s lives like there’s no tomorrow! Love ya. jv

Leave a Reply

 
